Wake Ev'ry Breath - Music of William Billings

Our first CD, Wake Ev’ry Breath, features the music of William Billings and was released in 1998 on New World Records. It is a live recording made in New York City on October 8, 1996, the 250th anniversary of Billings’s birth.

William Billings was the first important American composer, and the CD features 13 works including several of his most popular pieces (Africa and Jordan) as well as some never before recorded (Retrospect, Hingham and New Boston). Liner notes include a brief biography of this fascinating composer as well as an extended discography and bibliography.

1. Wake Ev’ry Breath
2. Africa
3. Mourn, Mourn
4. New Boston / Hingham
5. I am the Rose of Sharon
6. Retrospect
7. Chester / America
8. Euroclydon
9. Chesterfield
10. Creation
11. Cobham
12. Jordan
13. As the Hart Panteth